Heat’s so bad

It’s 90 degrees out
and one in the morning.
Dark and quiet
and hot.
It’s like the world is asking us
to forgo the comforts of rest
and stew and boil with it.

I play with the poem
for a while,
roll around with some Marcuse,
and then in bed I choke on a piece of
granola bar.

I remove it and then
I hold the hunk out in the palm of my hand
to an invisible mother.

Then I sleep.

The world is an oven.
I wonder if that makes us
the pie.

About allisunknown

26 year-old student, tutor, and writer. Write for http://www.spectrumculture.com. Also nascent pedestrian advocate. Twitter handles: twitter.com/joeclinkenbeard twitter.com/PedInPDX
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heat’s so bad

  1. Alli says:

    I didn’t really mean to, but I laughed out loud when you said you choked on a piece of granola bar.
    Hehe.
    I want to bake in your oven.

  2. allisunknown says:

    Do it, and say we didn’t did it.

Leave a Reply

