We’re two blossoms on the same bare and lonesome branch

I tried to write a sestina for you
but I didn’t like it;
the words I selected had stood grumbling
like party guests that didn’t get along.
If a transmission is to be sent,
it’s easiest to write unencrypted,
spelled out in a message logical
and mathematical —
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6; 6, 1, 5, 2, 4, 3, and so on…
and free verse
owing to interpretation
and Wittgenstein
is said to be open;
and the image can be
scrambled;
so I’d like to say this before
I heap too many ingredients
into this soup:

You always mixed colors well.

I may be one to try to mix
oil and water
but your oils
and your watercolors
are never lacking in synthetic
perfection.

In fact I am not entirely convinced you are not
slipping in colors
from some other spectrum.
Where I see only the individual shades & shapes
of the sounds of the eye
you see a symphony
of tones that you stir
into action
and conduct with a graceful ear
towards mixture
and differentiation.

The colors you concoct
find their way onto canvas
through the entropic strokes
of your stirring spoon
and huddle close together
becoming so entwined
that they seem to be lovers.

Your paintings, too
are admixture fractals of
organic abstraction, a blend
of my blood, and your blood,
and the blue of the sea
and the bark of the trees
and the black of the dark
and a streetlight
and a flame
and my grey-green eyes.

And the intermixed symbols stand as one
and transcend themselves —
the browns are not browns but
the color of moist soil
and the greens when they
aren’t forest moss
are seaweed
or fresh apples,
and the purples are
a fading bruise,
a plum,
the petals of a passion flower.

My days and nights
are divided;
I ascend daily through strata
and find only further
separation
in the layers
of my existence;
you walk the line of the horizon
in a parted world
and see the ten thousand things
as one;
and bring warm happy nights
to my cold long days,
and make me forget the components of this
contented composition.

But you always mixed colors well.

About allisunknown

26 year-old student, tutor, and writer. Write for http://www.spectrumculture.com. Also nascent pedestrian advocate. Twitter handles: twitter.com/joeclinkenbeard twitter.com/PedInPDX
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re two blossoms on the same bare and lonesome branch

  1. Stephanie says:

    You seem to have made a connection in this world that you can write down or up, but write it you do. I love this one.

    • allisunknown says:

      I like to think I’ve made that connection. I told her today my love of the world and its constant ebb and flow is my love for her writ large.

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

