In Spring it is the dawn

I knew
when you sat down.

It’s strange to think it’s been a year
since I landed that first kiss,
and a year since you waltzed through my door
and confessed
you wanted me to be
your boyfriend.
My hands will remember
the soft, gentle curve of your hips
forever.

Since then I have lived
400 days
in your presence,
in tumult and in cheer.
In joyous days
which all blend together now
I have carried the torch of the day countless times
into night
while you have  slept peacefully in my bed.
You have planted sweet kisses on my neck
that have yielded pale blossoms
dipped in black ink
which you have dried
and hung
on your walls.
In 400 days I have watched you create universes
with your paintbrush.

I knew
when you sat down
that things would never be the same again.

[Written on the inside of a copy of Sei Shonagon’s ‘Pillow Book,’ given to a special someone on our anniversary. The passage from the book which gives this poem its title, ‘In Spring it is the dawn,’ can be read here: http://tanabata.blogspot.com/2006/04/in-spring-it-is-dawn.html%5D

About allisunknown

26 year-old student, tutor, and writer. Write for http://www.spectrumculture.com. Also nascent pedestrian advocate. Twitter handles: twitter.com/joeclinkenbeard twitter.com/PedInPDX
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Spring it is the dawn

  1. Alli says:

    I feel incredibly special. You have no idea.

Leave a Reply

