At least just leave a light on

I’ve been thinking about you,
mostly.
Your eyes,
your lips, your neck, your voice,
your hands(!!!),
your beautiful, wonderful little body!,
your heart…
how much I want to sit in bed with you, kiss you…
read with you. Read to you.
Listen to you read to me.
Sit across a table from you.
Share you with the world.
Eat you out…
create (not make) love, force it into existence
through the friction of our bodies
moving against each other under the covers…
thinking about Oregon, thinking about traveling,
thinking about Rumi,
and my poetry, and how much I love your writing and your art,
and acting,
and how we should start a band,
and all the songs I’d want to sing with you,
and all the tattoos I want to get, and the names of our children…
and I know love is a transient and fickle thing
but I feel the strength of you
pounding out a rhythm beneath the pounding of my heart
and in the luminescent bodies of the words I never have to say when you’re near
and the thoughts I think
that I know you think too…

And.

I want to rub my feet against yours in the waters of all the oceans in the world.

Come back to me.
We can go to the beach.
We can plan a trip to Europe.
We can go to Italy, to Greece, to Spain (for you),
to Austria, to France, to England (for me),
to Egypt (for us both).
We can go anywhere
or nowhere
and be everything and nothing and be each other
and live in each other’s pockets
and blow the candles out and in the dark pretend we don’t exist at all.

We can go. We can not. We can.
Whatever it is — we can.

Love love love
love love love love,
Me.

About allisunknown

26 year-old student, tutor, and writer. Write for http://www.spectrumculture.com. Also nascent pedestrian advocate. Twitter handles: twitter.com/joeclinkenbeard twitter.com/PedInPDX
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

